The Binding Song by Elodie Harper Book Review

BLURB

FROM THE WINNER OF THE STEPHEN KING AND GUARDIAN SHORT STORY COMPETITION.

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, THE BINDING SONG takes you on a trip to Halvergate Prison. If you’re lucky, you’ll get to leave…

‘Splendidly unsettling’ John Connolly

Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at HMP Halvergate in a remote, bleak area of Norfolk. At first, she was excited by the promotion. Then she starts to see how many secrets are hiding behind the high walls.

A string of inmates have committed suicide, leaving no reasons why, and her predecessor has disappeared – along with his notes. The staff are hostile, the threat of violence is ever-present, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, punishing the inmates for their sins.

Janet is determined to find out what is really going on. But the longer she stays and the deeper she digs, the more uncertain she feels.

Halvergate is haunted by something. But it may be a terror worse than ghosts…

MY THOUGHTS

The Binding Song is an outstanding, atmospheric novel from debut novelist Elodie Harper. It is a novel that will give you genuine chills as it takes you into the heart of an isolated prison in Norfolk. If you’re lucky you’ll get to leave.

Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at Halvergate, an isolated Prison in Norfolk. Janet works with some of the most dangerous criminals. She tries to help them understand their actions and to understand the minds of their victims at the time of the attack. But all is not what it seems at Halvergate. There have been a spate of recent suicides at the prison and reports that prisoners have been terrorised by a demon, a woman in white, which ultimately results in their deaths. Can Janet get to the bottom of what is going on in Halvergate before more deaths occur? And can she make sure that she doesn’t go mad herself?

Elodie has created a cast of intriguing characters in her debut novel. Although the criminals in this book are inside for committing heinous crimes, Janet has to believe that she can make a difference to their lives and she has to believe that to some extent, that they deserve a second chance. One particular prisoner who we are introduced to is Michael Donovan, a creepy character who will really get under your skin. Elodie did a brilliant job of creating an extremely unlikable character but she also created an intriguing individual in him. I even felt sympathy for some of the other prisoners as Janet got to know them.

Elodie’s description in this book is top class! I found myself utterly absorbed in her writing as she took us on a journey through the bleak Norfolk landscape to the isolated prison. Elodie is a writer with a huge talent and I can’t wait to read  more from her.

An outstanding debut!

Elodie Harper will be appearing at First Monday Crime on the 6th November. A regular night of murder and mayhem for crime fiction folk in London and you can book your FREE ticket by clicking HERE

Publisher: Mullholland Books

Publication date: 29th June 2017

Print length: 304 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

2 thoughts on “The Binding Song by Elodie Harper Book Review

  1. Pingback: #TBR ten titles I covet – but don’t have yet | Fictionophile

Comments are closed.