My Little Eye by Stephanie Marland Book Review

My Little Eye (Starke & Bell) by [Marland, Stephanie, Broadribb, Stephanie]

BLURB

Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?

 

KISS THE GIRLS AND MAKE THEM DIE…

A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals – the latest victim of ‘The Lover’. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.

As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands – to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group.

As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they’re being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim – Clementine – firmly in his sights.

Perfect for fans of The Cuckoo’s Calling, The Girl Before and Rather Be The Devil. The thriller with twists you’ll never see coming!

 

MY THOUGHTS

Wow, I was blown away by My Little Eye; I have been looking forward to reading it since I first heard that it was being published and I wasn’t disappointed. Stephanie Marland has created a brilliant cast of characters in her new series and I can’t wait to find out more about them.

In My Little Eye we are introduced to Clementine Starke and murder squad detective DI Dominic Bell. The police are investigating a series of murders which have taken place and DI Dominic Bell fears that a serial killer may be at large, the killer is known to the police and the press as ‘The Lover.’ Fed up with the lack of progress the police are making, an online crime group becomes determined to solve the murders, their main objective: to beat the police. Clementine joins and soon finds herself embroiled in the mystery. But soon her world and Dominic’s collide and Clementine soon realises that she has put herself very close to danger. Can they catch the killer before they kill again? Can they be stopped before it’s too late?

What I really liked about this book is the unique premise. In police procedural novels we are used to the police investigating and solving the crime, what I really found interesting in My Little Eye was Stephanie’s use of true crime addicts who are desperate to beat them. It was intriguing to see how a group of amateurs could solve a crime without the resources the police have and without the means to go and interrogate witnesses and potential suspects. Could they really do a better job? We all like to play armchair detectives and try to work out ‘who did it’ ourselves so it was really fascinating to see this group in action. This really did well in adding to the pace of the novel as both sides raced to stop the killer from striking again. This also had me intrigued to see who would get to the bottom of the case first, if either side managed to solve it.

The characters, who were part of the online crime group, alongside Clementine were intriguing, although most of their interaction takes place online, you can begin to see connections forming and you can definitely see where the group is splitting apart. I was curious to see if they would all maintain their commitment.

Both Clementine and Dominic held my attention from the start. They both have interesting stories which will make you want to find out more about them and I was thrilled to learn that another book in the series is on the way. I really liked the chemistry between them in this book, this is something that I am hoping will be explored further.

My Little Eye is a great start to a thrilling new series; I can’t wait to read the next book.

Publisher: Trapeze

Publication date: 2nd November 2017 (Kindle) 5th April 2018 (paperback)

Print length: 352 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

One thought on “My Little Eye by Stephanie Marland Book Review

  1. Loved this book review. It was very upbeat, and gave a great and intriguing impression of the book. I liked the observations, for example about the amateur detectives. I’ve bought it and put it on my reading list. I will review it on my website http://www.datingdaisy.net.
    Daisy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

