All the Wicked Girls by Chris Whitaker book review @1stMondayCrime @WhittyAuthor

With First Monday Crime only a week away, I thought I would share my review of All the Wicked Girls by Chris Whitaker who will be appearing at next month’s panel. And if you’re interested in coming along, I will include all the information below about how you can book your FREE space. I hope to see you there.

BLURB

For fans of Lisa Jewell, Holly Seddon and Local Girl Missing, All the Wicked Girls is a gripping thriller with a huge heart from an exceptional talent.

Everyone loves Summer Ryan. A model student and musical prodigy, she’s a ray of light in the struggling small town of Grace, Alabama – especially compared to her troubled sister, Raine. Then Summer vanishes.

Raine throws herself into the investigation, aided by a most unlikely ally, but the closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous her search becomes.

And perhaps there was always more to Summer than met the eye . . .

MY THOUGHTS

I absolutely loved Chris Whitaker’s debut novel Tall Oaks so I couldn’t wait to see what he had install for us next and All the Wicked Girls didn’t disappoint. It is even better and much darker than Tall Oaks; I think it has to be one of my favourite reads of this year.

All the Wicked Girls is set in the fictional small town of Grace, Alabama. A giant storm cloud hangs above the town which panics the residents who are convinced that something evil is afoot. And then Summer Ryan goes missing, a model student with a talent for music. Summer’s sister, Raine is distraught and puts every effort in to finding her sister.

Chris Whitaker is seriously one of the best writers in the business at the moment; it’s hard to believe that this is only his second book. His characterisation skills are excellent; when you turn the final page, you have that feeling that you have got to know every character really well and for me, good characterisation is one of the most important aspects that make up a good story. We need a character who we can get behind and Chris has definitely got that here with Raine. I could feel her agony as she searched to find the truth as to what happened to her sister and I was rooting for her to find her, it was clear that Raine would use any means possible to make sure that her sister was safe. Chris is an expert in giving the reader the sense that every character in his book has a secret, this gives his novels an element of a Broadchurch style mystery, it makes for a gripping read, I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.

The setting of the fictional town of Grace was really well done, I felt as though I was in America’s Deep South, although the town was fictional I had no trouble at all imagining it as a town in this area. Chris captured the mood and the atmosphere of the town really well, particularly when the people who live there are dealing with a crisis, you can begin to see cracks in relationships forming and a society beginning to fall apart as they fight to find answers and keep the town safe.

Another brilliant book by Chris, All the Wicked Girls is a book I predict will be huge. It’s definitely one of those books that you don’t want to end. The only problem is now that I’ve finished is that I have to wait for Chris’s next book; I can’t wait to see what he does next. Thank you to Emily Burns at Bonnier Zaffre Books for sending me a copy to review.

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre

Publication date: 24th August 2017

Print length: 448 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

FIRST MONDAY CRIME

Now for the all important details about where you can reserve your space for First Monday Crime. Alongside Chris, on the panel we have: Louise Jensen, bestselling author of The Sister, The Gift and The Surrogate; Susi Holliday, author of the Banktoun trilogy and The Deaths of December; MJ McGrath, her latest book is Give Me The Child. And finally we have Claire McGowan who will be chairing the panel, Claire is the author of the Paula Maguire series which are brilliant crime novels set in Ireland.

We also have wine sponsored by No Exit Press, Secret Santa Book Exchange, where you can bring along one of your favourite crime novels and you’ll receive a book in return. And then we have Pitch An Audience where crime writers will pitch their cherished ideas to the audience and you decide the winner.

The date for First Monday Crime is: Monday, 4th December 2017 and the doors open at 6:30 p.m.

Location: City University, London

If I have tempted you with all what’s going on. Then follow the link below to reserve your space. I hope to see you there.

FIRST MONDAY CRIME

 

3 thoughts on “All the Wicked Girls by Chris Whitaker book review @1stMondayCrime @WhittyAuthor

Comments are closed.