The Sister by Louise Jensen Book Review @Fab_fiction @1stMondayCrime

BLURB

‘I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me . . .’

Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s words the last time she saw her, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear that there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie’s father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie’s sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home.

But something isn’t right. Things disappear, Dan’s acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace’s mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie . . . Or was there?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and The Girl With No Past.

MY THOUGHTS

The Sister is definitely my kind of psychological thriller. This is Louise Jensen’s debut and wow what a debut it is. Louise skilfully weaves tension into her novel that kept me gripped to the page. If you haven’t yet had the chance to read this book, then you have a real treat in store.

Grace has struggled to cope after the death of her best friend Charlie. Charlie’s death has put a strain on her life and when Grace discovers that Charlie always wanted to find her birth father, she makes it her mission to complete this task for her friend. With the help of her boyfriend, Dan, they create an advert on social media appealing for Charlie’s father to come forward and when Anna turns up on the scene, claiming to be Charlie’s half sister, Grace can’t believe her luck. As she gets to know Anna, they begin to form a friendship, but all is not as it seems with Anna, is she really all that she claims to be?

The tagline on the cover of the book really caught my attention: I did something terrible, Grace. I hope you can forgive me… I was immediately intrigued and I wanted to find out more. As I read the first chapter I became more and more interested in what Charlie had done to her friend, why did she need to ask for her forgiveness? Louise also left me wanting to know what had happened to Charlie, how did she die? Once I was past the first chapter I couldn’t stop reading.

The book flicks back and forth from the present to Grace’s past. I was interested to see how Grace and Charlie’s friendship would develop after their first encounter at school. When Anna first appears in the present, I could see that Grace was using her to fill the hole in her life left by Charlie. Anna is curious about her half sister and she wants to know everything that Grace can tell her. However, Grace’s boyfriend, Dan is hostile towards her and he clearly does not want Anna involved with Grace. It is here where the tension begins to escalate. I could not put this book down and I was desperate to find out the secret of Grace and Charlie’s past.

The Sister is a brilliant debut from Louise. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of psychological thrillers; I’m looking forward to catching up with Louise’s next book, The Gift.

Publisher: Sphere

Publication date: 24th August 2017

Print length: 352 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

Louise Jensen will be appearing at First Monday Crime on Monday, 4th December alongside three other brilliant authors: Chris Whitaker, Susi Holliday and Mel McGrath. The panel will be moderated by crime writer, Claire McGowan. 

On the night we also have wine, sponsored by No Exit Press and Pitch an Audience, where top crime writers will pitch their most precious ideas to the audience who will decide the winner. 

First Monday Crime will be held at City University, London and it starts at 6:30 p.m. If you are interested in coming along please follow the link below to reserve your FREE space. I hope to see you there. 

FIRST MONDAY CRIME