#TooClosetoBreathe by Olivia Kiernan blog tour @LivKiernan @riverrunbooks

Today I am delighted to join the blog tour for Too Close To Breathe, which is an absolutely nail biting serial killer thriller from debut writer, Olivia Kiernan.

Too Close to Breathe: A heart-stopping thriller, new for 2018 by [Kiernan, Olivia]

Source: Review Copy

BLURB

FIND THE KILLER WHO LIKES TO PLAY DEAD
A bold, brilliant new crime thriller – perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey and Gillian Flynn

TOO SOON TO SEE

Polished. Professional. Perfect. Dead. Respected scientist Dr Eleanor Costello is found hanged in her immaculate home: the scene the very picture of a suicide.

TOO LATE TO HIDE

DCS Frankie Sheehan is handed the case, and almost immediately spots foul play. Sheehan, a trained profiler, is seeking a murderer with a talent for death.

TOO CLOSE TO BREATHE

As Frankie strives to paint a picture of the killer, and their victim, she starts to sense they are part of a larger, darker canvas, on which the lines between the two blur.

MY THOUGHTS

There is a clever hook to this novel which I found really intriguing and it made me want to read it straight away. Find the killer who likes to play dead. I always enjoy a good police procedural novel and the author, Olivia Kiernan has put her own spin on it with a captivating, compelling plot and a fascinating lead Detective. The moment I read the pitch line I was fascinated to see how the plot would develop.

The body of a respected scientist, Dr Eleanor Costello is found hanged at her home in Dublin. To the police officers who arrive on the scene it appears as though she has committed suicide, it should be fairly simply to wrap up, but DCS Frankie Sheehan begins to suspect that foul play has been committed and when they discover that Eleanor’s husband is missing the investigation really begins to heat up. As investigations progress they discover that Eleanor carried dark secrets with her and when another body is found the race is on to stop a killer before they kill again. What murky world was Eleanor involved in?

DCS Frankie Sheehan is a tenacious police detective who I liked straight away. Although she has to carry the burden of having recently been involved in a high profile case, which has left her suffering from PTSD, she tries not to allow this to undermine her current work, even though it is always playing in the background of her mind. We don’t know everything about Frankie’s character to begin with and this is one aspect of the plot I really engaged with as Olivia slowly peeled back the layers of her recent past. I really enjoyed getting to know her in Too Close To Breathe and I can’t wait to meet up with her again and find out more about her.

Olivia writes about some dark themes in her novel which include the Dark Web and BDSM. Her ideas were pulled together in a very intelligent way and I became utterly absorbed by the plot. This is one of those stories which had me sitting with my thinking cap on as I tried to work out how everything was going to come together. You can see the meticulous level of research that has gone into her plotting and I felt confident that Olivia was a writer who knew what she was talking about.

If you are a fan of crime fiction featuring serial killers, you need to add this one to your TBR pile. Too Close to Breathe is both engaging and original. Thank you to Anne Cater for inviting me to take part in the blog tour and to riverun for sending me an advance review copy.

Publisher: riverun

Publication date: 5th April 2018

Print length: 336 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR

FINAL Too Close To Breath Poster

2 thoughts on “#TooClosetoBreathe by Olivia Kiernan blog tour @LivKiernan @riverrunbooks

Comments are closed.