Lying To You by Amanda Reynolds Book Review @amandareynoldsj @wildfirebks

Source: Review Copy

BLURB

Following on from her eBook bestseller Close To Me, Amanda Reynolds is back with Lying To You, another gripping psychological drama. Perfect for fans of The Husband’s Secret and I Let You Go.

You think you know the truth about that night, but what if your husband is LYING TO YOU?

When Jess Tidy was Mark Winter’s student, she made a shocking accusation. Mark maintained his innocence, but the damage was done.

Karen Winter stood by her husband through everything, determined to protect her family.

Now, ten years later, Jess is back. And the truth about that night is finally going to come out . . .

MY THOUGHTS

Lying To You is the second novel by Amanda Reynolds, I really enjoyed her debut Close To Me, so I was thrilled to get the opportunity to review her second. It is a dark, character-driven psychological drama that kept me gripped.

What I really liked about this book, is that I felt I couldn’t trust either of her main protagonists, Jess and Mark. Amanda’s plot and the character’s kept me asking questions as I tried to work out what had really happened between the pair. Ten years ago, Mark Winter was tutoring Jess Tidy who was a vulnerable schoolgirl and known for coming from a troublesome family. Jess had little hope for her future, and it became Mark’s mission to help her succeed. Jess accuses Mark of rape and his world, and his family’s lives come crashing down. It is at this point that the plot becomes darker, and the reader becomes entangled in a web of lies and deceit.

What initially drew me into the story was the opening chapter when Jess, in the present day, receives a call from her brother Will, informing her of her mother’s death. I was immediately intrigued by Jess’s coldness towards her mother’s passing and her lack of willingness to help her brother. Already I was asking questions about her which I wanted to know the answer to, what had happened in the past to drive her away from her family?

The story is told through the narratives of Jess and Karen, Mark’s wife. We hear two conflicting stories about the events that have taken place in the past. I really enjoyed both the narratives in this book, they both offered a deep and psychological insight into the issue that Amanda chose to write about, and we can see how it has destroyed the lives of both the families involved. In the chapters told from Karen’s point of view we also hear from Mark’s as she reads chapters from a book he is writing about what happened between him and Jess.

This is a well-developed and a captivating second novel from Amanda Reynolds. She is fast becoming one of my favourite writers.

Thank you to Phoebe Swinburn at Headline for sending me a copy of the book to review.

Publisher: Wildfire

Publication date: 1st April 2018 (Kindle) 26th July 2018 (paperback)

Print length: 368 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE