Guilt by Amanda Robson blog tour @AmandaRauthor @AvonBooksUK

Source: Review Copy

BLURB

Your sister. Her secret. The betrayal.

There is no bond greater than blood . . .

When the body of a woman is found stabbed to death, the blame falls to her twin sister. But who killed who? And which one is now the woman behind bars?

Zara and Miranda have always supported each other. But then Zara meets Seb, and everything changes. Handsome, charismatic and dangerous, Seb threatens to tear the sisters’ lives apart – but is he really the one to blame? Or are deeper resentments simmering beneath the surface that the sisters must face up to?

As the sisters’ relationship is stretched to the brink, a traumatic incident in Seb’s past begins to rear its head and soon all three are locked in a psychological battle that will leave someone dead. The question is, who?

Claustrophobic and compelling, Amanda Robson is back in a knock-out thriller perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Paula Hawkins.

MY THOUGHTS

Guilt is an addictive psychological drama by Amanda Robson. Claustrophobic, tense and told in short, snappy chapters, towards the end I found this novel impossible to put down. This book showcases some really excellent writing and skill in creating tension.

Zara and Miranda are twins. Amanda Robson opens her novel with a shocking opening scene which immediately had me intrigued. One twin has just killed the other, but who is in who’s place? We don’t find out until much later. Amanda then takes us back in time and unravels the twin’s relationship over the past several months. They are clearly two sisters who love each other dearly, but when Sebastian (Zara’s new boyfriend) enters the fold, their situation begins to change and tensions develop between them. It is clear that Sebastian is a dangerous and damaged individual, but what are his plans for Zara and Miranda? And what catastrophe results in one of them killing the other?

We hear from the voices of Zara, Miranda and Sebastian, but predominately from Zara and Miranda. As the reader we know what is coming after reading the opening pages, and this revelation early on, had me searching for clues in the text, as I tried to work out what was going to drive them into this situation. They were both compelling character’s to explore and they had interesting backgrounds.

One theme which Amanda chose to explore through her characters, was that of mental health which runs throughout the book. Although there were some disturbing scenes in which this particular theme was the subject, it was handled delicately and it brought the issue to the forefront of my mind, particularly with how people who suffer from mental health must feel.

Guilt is a tension filled drama that will keep the reader guessing. Amanda Robson is a writer who I am keen to read more from. Thank you to Sabah Khan at Avon Books for sending me a copy of the book to review and for inviting me to take part in the blog tour.

Publisher: Avon

Publication date: 19th April 2018

Print length: 416 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR

Banner Guilt