The Girl I Used To Be by Mary Torjussen blog tour @MaryTorjussen @headlinepg

The Girl I Used to Be Cover

Source: Review Copy

BLURB

How can you hide your mistakes when you don’t know what they are?

Gemma Brogan needs a break from her life.

A work event looks the ideal chance to get away. And a friendly new client seems like the perfect gentleman when he joins Gemma for an innocent dinner . . .

But the next morning she has no memory of how the night ended and he has vanished into thin air.

Suddenly, Gemma is plunged into a twisted nightmare she can’t control. To protect her future, and her family, she will have to confront shocking secrets from her past – and the truth about the girl she used to be.

Completely gripping and full of page-turning twists, this is the perfect psychological thriller for fans of Erin Kelly’s HE SAID SHE SAID and Laura Marshall’s FRIEND REQUEST.

MY THOUGHTS

Mary Torjussen knows how to write suspense. Her latest novel, The Girl I Used To Be is a book you can easily fly through in an afternoon. It is a character driven drama and she puts her protagonist, Gemma in a terrifying situation that is going to be very difficult for her to work her way out of.

What Mary does so well with her characters, is that she puts very ordinary people in very frightening but believable scenarios. Her protagonist, Gemma owns an estate agent’s, so she and her colleagues are dealing with members of the public near enough every day. But it dawns on them in this book that they never really know quite who they are dealing with. This is what Gemma finds out when she becomes involved with one particular client who threatens to put her own security in danger. However she soon begins to realise that she really has no idea who she has become involved with and that he might be more dangerous than she previously thought possible.

Gemma was a character who I could root for throughout the book. She is a strong lead, having to run a business and be solely responsible in providing for her family’s income as her husband, Joe doesn’t work. Instead he stays at home to look after their son Rory. I have to admit that this was what I really didn’t like about Joe and I found him a difficult character to get on with. I don’t think he quite comes across as lazy in the book but for now he is very set in his ways and his routine and I did keep thinking to myself, surely Gemma could do better.

Mary’s plot and writing is highly addictive from the first page. I stayed up reading way too late as I waited to find out what was going to happen to Gemma. At the beginning of the novel there is a scene which takes place fifteen years earlier at a party which she attended to celebrate finishing her A-level exams. I was intrigued to learn how this scene was going to become relevant to the plot later on and things do begin to become clearer as Mary delves into the lives of her characters. I was able to guess one of the twists but it didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the story as I was still interested to find out what was going to happen to Gemma and how she was going to deal with the situation.

If you’re a fan of psychological dramas, I highly recommend The Girl I Used To Be. Mary  pulls you into the plot and into the lives of her characters and you will want to keep turning the pages to find out what happens to them. I can’t wait to read what she writes next. Thank you to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours for inviting me to take part in the blog tour and to the publisher for providing an advance review copy.

Publisher: Headline

Publication date: 3rd May 2018 (kindle) 9th August 2018 (paperback)

Print length: 352 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR 

3 thoughts on “The Girl I Used To Be by Mary Torjussen blog tour @MaryTorjussen @headlinepg

Comments are closed.