First Monday Crime May @1stMondayCrime

First Monday Crime is back at City University, London in just a few days. This time the most important thing to remember is that it is on a Tuesday because of the Bank Holiday the day before. The date is Tuesday, 7th May and it is at the usual time of 18.30 p.m. So let’s take a look at the line-up for this month.

Deborah O’Connor, author of The Dangerous Kind

The Dangerous Kind: The most unsettling thriller of the year by [O'Connor, Deborah]

Perfect for fans of Anatomy of A Scandal and Belinda Bauer, The Dangerous Kind is a dark and gripping thriller that asks us all: how well do you really know the people you trust?

One in 100 of us is a ‘potentially dangerous person’ – someone likely to commit a violent crime. We all know them: these charmers, liars and manipulators. The ones who send prickles up the back of our neck. 

These people hide in plain sight. They can be teachers, doctors, lawyers, holding positions of trust, of power. 

Jessamine Gooch makes a living tracking the 1 in 100. Each week she broadcasts a radio show that examines brutal offences, asking if more could have been done to identify and prevent their perpetrators.

But when she agrees to investigate a missing person case involving a young mother, she is drawn into a web of danger that will ultimately lead to the upper echelons of power, and threaten the safety of her own family.

I read this a few weeks ago and I’ll be sharing my full review as part of the blog tour later this month. The Dangerous Kind is very readable, tense and exciting and it will make you very eager to find out how everything comes together. It’s one of those books that you can just sink so quickly into. I loved it.

Vanda Symon, author of The Ringmaster

The Ringmaster (Sam Shephard Book 2) by [Symon, Vanda]

Death is stalking the South Island of New Zealand

Marginalised by previous antics, Sam Shephard, is on the bottom rung of detective training in Dunedin, and her boss makes sure she knows it. She gets involved in her first homicide investigation, when a university student is murdered in the Botanic Gardens, and Sam soon discovers this is not an isolated incident. There is a chilling prospect of a predator loose in Dunedin, and a very strong possibility that the deaths are linked to a visiting circus…

Determined to find out who’s running the show, and to prove herself, Sam throws herself into an investigation that can have only one ending…

Rich with atmosphere, humour and a dark, shocking plot, The Ringmaster marks the return of passionate, headstrong police officer, Sam Shephard, in the next instalment of Vanda Symon’s bestselling series.

You can read my full review of The Ringmaster by clicking here.

Mark Billingham, author of Their Little Secret 

Sarah thinks of herself as a normal single mum. It’s what she wants others to think of her. But the truth is, she needs something new, something thrilling.

Meanwhile, DI Tom Thorne is investigating a woman’s suicide, convinced she was driven to do it by a man who preys on vulnerable women.

A man who is about to change Sarah’s life.

Chris Carter, author of Hunting Evil 

‘Every story one day comes to an end.’
As roommates, they met for the first time in college. Two of the brightest minds ever to graduate from Stamford Psychology University.
As adversaries, they met again in Quantico, Virginia. Robert Hunter had become the head of the LAPD’s Ultra Violent Crimes Unit. Lucien Folter had become the most prolific and dangerous serial killer the FBI had ever encountered.
 
Now, after spending three and a half years locked in solitary confinement, Lucien has finally managed to break free. And he’s angry.
 
For the past three and a half years, Lucien has thought of nothing else but vengeance.
The person responsible for locking him away has to pay, he has to suffer.
That person … is Robert Hunter.
And now it is finally time to execute the plan.

You can read my full review of Hunting Evil by clicking here.

 

The panel is being moderated by Laura Wilson who’s latest book is The Other Woman, she also reviews crime fiction for The Guardian. To read my review of her latest book, you can click here.

Tickets are absolutely FREE, but please reserve your space by clicking on the link below just so that the organisers have an idea of how many people are coming. Afterwards we’ll be heading to the Blacksmith and Toffemaker nearby for a drink. Books will be available to buy on the night and the authors will be signing copies. The nearest tube stations are Farringdon and Angel. If you would like to find out more about First Monday Crime and keep up to date, you can also follow them on Twitter @1stMondayCrime.

Reserve your space.

One thought on “First Monday Crime May @1stMondayCrime

Comments are closed.