Winter Dark by Alex Callister #bookreview @CallisterAuthor @bookouture

On my blog today I’m sharing my thoughts on the debut thriller by Alex Callister, Winter Dark.

Winter Dark: A totally gripping crime thriller with heart-pounding suspense (The Winter Series Book 1) by [Alex Callister]

BLURB

A desperate girl held captive somewhere in the city, her liquid brown eyes pleading with the camera as the clock tick-tick-ticks down.

An agent with a broken past, who has seen what happens when the counter hits zero. It took the last one three days to die while the world watched. This killer is never late, and he never breaks his promises.

But how do you catch someone who could be anyone – who only speaks through the eyes of his terrified victims and never leaves a trace? To catch a killer with no face, you have to become faceless yourself…

A pulse-racing thriller that will keep you turning the pages late into the night. For fans of Sandra Brown, Willow Rose and Mary Burton.

Please note: this book contains scenes of a sexual nature.

MY THOUGHTS

Winter Dark is an explosive debut by Alex Callister, and it introduces us to a fierce new protagonist who you won’t be forgetting about in a hurry. Set in an alternate world where murders can be bought on the internet through a website called Firestorm. Agent Winter sets out to apprehend the man behind it, and she is determined to make sure that he isn’t given an easy ride.

This debut blew away all my expectations. Spy thrillers aren’t typically my go-to genre, but I found that once I started reading this book, I couldn’t stop. Winter is a brilliant character; she’s feisty, confident, fiercely independent and is certainly not a person who will give up, even if it means that the outcome may mean death. I found that I could visualise every scene in the book. Alex Callister takes us on a journey across Europe as Winter sets out to destroy the operation Firestorm, and there is never a dull or a slow moment. You can see how determined she is to bring justice. Winter is definitely a force to be reckoned with.

If you think along the same lines of James Bond, then that is similar to what you are going to experience here. There are no quiet moments, and there is no question about it that Winter is the person in charge of this mission, even though she has been hired to track the man responsible for Firestorm down. She knows what her role is, and she will see it through.

Alex Callister keeps the tension turning up a notch as Winter races closer and closer to the person who she is determined to find and bring to justice. I could quite easily picture this translating really well onto the big screen as the description, the fight scenes, and the characters are all so vivid.

If you’re prepared to be taken on a wild ride, then you will absolutely love this book. There’s heart-pounding tension all the way through, and Alex Callister’s writing will keep you turning the pages. I, for one, can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication date: 7th January 2020

Print length: 336 pages

Winter Dark is available to buy:

Amazon UK  Kobo

 

2 thoughts on “Winter Dark by Alex Callister #bookreview @CallisterAuthor @bookouture

Comments are closed.