The Shadows of Rutherford House by Caroline England #bookreview #blogtour @CazEngland @HeraBooks

On my blog today, I’m sharing my thoughts on the new gothic thriller by C E Rose, The Shadows of Rutherford House.

BLURB

Darkness lies at the heart of this family…

In 1959 Milly starts her new life as a housemaid at Rutherford House, working for the aristocratic Rutherford-Percy clan. Entranced by her new mistress, Vivienne, she becomes deeply embroiled in the household and the keeper of dark secrets the family conceals beneath the mansion’s grand exterior.

In the present day, Christie is working as a psychiatric nurse when she meets troubled patient Lillian Percy, Vivienne’s granddaughter and heiress to Rutherford House. They soon bond over the loss of their mothers
– Lillian’s died when she was a child; Christie’s mysteriously disappeared over twenty years ago – and Christie finds herself increasingly fascinated by
Lillian’s family and their imposing ancestral home.

As Christie learns more about the Rutherford-Percys, she finds a shocking clue that could help her uncover what happened to her own mother. Desperate for answers, Christie puts her job, her family and even her very life on the line. But how much of the truth does she really want to know?

A twisty, chilling and unputdownable page-turner about family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Louise Douglas and Harriet Evans.

MY THOUGHTS

The Shadows of Rutherford House is an engaging new gothic suspense novel by C E Rose. C E Rose does a brilliant job of drawing you into her writing by her characters, who inhabit Rutherford House, and the house itself. C E Rose brings her setting to life very well. You often hear the phrase “if walls could talk,” and I was certainly thinking that as I was reading this book.

I think this is definitely more of a slow burner, but the suspense builds as we begin to understand more about what has happened in the past and how this links to the present. The chapters are also short, which is what I also quite liked about this book.

We follow three separate timelines. In the present Christie has arrived at Rutherford House, following the recent disappearance of her mother. C E Rose brilliantly intertwines Christie’s story with stories of people who have previously lived at the house. As the plot develops and as we get to know the character’s further, it darkens, and makes you turn the pages even faster to get to the end.

The plot is quite a complex one, particularly with the different narrations and the timelines, but C E Rose handles this very well, and it’s part of what made me even more invested in the lives of the characters. One of C E Rose’s most brilliant skills, I think, as a writer, is her characterisation. She really delves into their emotions and makes them feel like real people. In the present I could feel Christie’s determination to get to the bottom of what happened to her mother, but she is also doing this at her own personal cost which adds to the tension in the book.

One of the characters who I found really intriguing was Imogen. C E Rose creates a real sense of darkness about Imogen and this made me eager to find out more about her. This is what helps to create a sinister atmosphere in the book.  There are some chilling moments throughout the history of Rutherford House in recent decades that really did put me on the edge of my seat.

The Shadows of Rutherford House is another intriguing read by C E Rose that kept me engrossed right the way through.

Publisher: Hera Books

Publication date: 10th November 2022

Print length: 349 pages

The Shadows of Rutherford House is available to buy:

Amazon UK

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR