A Brew To A Kill #TheLastParty #TheLastPartyEvent

I’m excited to let you know of a brilliant event taking place on Zoom on the 7th July at 7pm. If you love a murder mystery and if you’re a fan of crime fiction you do not want to miss it.

Detectives Clare Mackintosh, Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. Clare, Lucy and Ruth will act as lead detectives who are in a race against time to discover who murdered Artie Bean, owner of the No Filter Coffee Shack, on the shores of Llyn Drych, set in the universe of The Last Party by Clare Mackintosh. However, these seasoned writers need help to solve the mystery. Audience members will be included in group chats with the authors to review the evidence and decide upon their theories. Once the murderer has been revealed, the three authors will be in conversation with host, Lauren North, to discuss their latest books.

Each ticket includes a hardback copy of The Last Party which publishes on the 4th August 2022. When you book your ticket, you will receive an e-ticket via email with the event details so you can access the online event taking place on the 7th July. You will then receive your copy of The Last Party in the post when it publishes in August. Tickets are £26.15.

Everyone who purchases a book + ticket will be entered into a prize draw to win two tickets to Harrogate Crime Writing Festival. The festival runs from the 21st to the 23rd of July and tickets will include access to Little Brown’s Crime Vault Pop-up Event where you will be able to meet Clare Mackintosh in person! The prize also includes 3 nights of accommodation at the Crown hotel. A winner will be spot picked and announced during the event.

What does every detective need whilst on the case? A good cup of coffee. We are therefore super thrilled to announce that Missing Bean Coffee Roasters have joined us to sponsor the event. With Missing Bean on board, we will be sending out coffee samples to the first 100 people to purchase their tickets!

Keep reading for some further insight into our Detectives and Host for the evening…

Clare Mackintosh
 is the multi-award-winning author of five Sunday Times bestselling novels. Translated into forty languages, her books have sold more than two million copies worldwide, have been New York Times and international bestsellers and have spent a combined total of 64 weeks in the Sunday Times bestseller chart. Clare’s next book, The Last Party, will publish on the 4th August

Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry – during which time she wrote The Book of Lost and Found, which was a bestselling debut of 2015. Lucy now writes full-time, with her crime novels The Hunting Party and The Guest List being published in 2018 and 2020 respectively to critical acclaim.Her newest novel, The Paris Apartment, published in March 2022, instantly took the number one spot on The New York Times bestseller list. It has sold in over 40 territories and the movie rights have been acquired by Sony.

Ruth Ware is an international number one bestseller. Her thrillers In a Dark, Dark Wood, The Woman in Cabin 10, The Lying Game, The Death of Mrs Westaway, The Turn of the Key and One by One have appeared on bestseller lists around the world, including the Sunday Times and New York Times. Her books have been optioned for both film and TV, and she is published in more than 40 languages. Ruth’s next book, The It Girl, will publish on the 4th August

Lauren North writes psychological suspense novels that delve into the darker side of relationships and families. Her most recent novels are Safe at Home and All The Wicked Games (Out summer 2022). Lauren also writes high-concept book club thrillers as L.C. North. Her first L.C. North book – The Ugly Truth – is out in March 2023. Lauren lives on the Suffolk borders with her family and dog, Rodney. When she’s not writing, she co-hosts the popular crime thriller podcast, In Suspense.

Click here to purchase tickets

Hostage by Clare Mackintosh #bookreview

On my blog today, I’m sharing my thoughts on the gripping new novel by Clare Mackintosh, Hostage.

BLURB

The atmosphere on board the first non-stop flight from London to Sydney is electric. Celebrities are rumoured to be among the passengers in business class, and the world is watching the landmark journey.

Flight attendant Mina is trying to focus on the passengers, instead of her troubled five-year-old daughter back at home – or the cataclysmic problems in her marriage.

But soon after the plane takes off, Mina receives a chilling anonymous note. Someone wants to make sure the plane never reaches its destination. They’re demanding her cooperation . . . and they know exactly how to get it.

It’s twenty hours to landing.
A lot can happen in twenty hours . . .

MY THOUGHTS

Hostage by Clare Mackintosh is such a tense, nail biting read, and it opens with an explosive first page which paints a terrifying picture in your mind. I’m a huge fan of Clare Mackintosh’s books and I think this is her best book to date. It made me think that this is something that could happen which made it even more terrifying. It has made me think twice about getting on a plane, especially a long-haul flight any time soon.

We’re introduced to Mina, a flight attendant who is about to travel on the first ever non-stop trip from London to Sydney. Mina did originally want to become a pilot, but her plans changed. The flight is getting a lot of attention from the press; influencers and celebrities are among the passengers traveling in business class. The thought of being on a flight for twenty hours fills me with dread. The longest flight I’ve ever taken is when I flew to Japan a couple of years ago which was fourteen hours. As the flight gets underway it becomes clear to Mina that the flight has been taken hostage. Mina is faced with an impossible decision that will affect the lives of everyone on board.

I really had no idea how things were going to pan out for Mina. I could feel her fear as she comes to terms with the decision she has to make. It made me wonder what she was going to do, and it made me think about what I would do if I was in her position.

What I really liked about this book is that parts of the book are told from different passengers who are onboard the flight. They all have their own individual, unique backstories which I thought Clare Mackintosh crafted so well. It made me question everything about them and I felt as though I couldn’t trust anyone who was onboard.

Clare Mackintosh also tells the book from the point of view Mina’s husband who is at home with her daughter. I thought these scenes were done very well and they added to the tension in the book. I really liked Mina’s daughter. She is very bright, and I thought that Clare Mackintosh brought her personality to life really well. Mina’s husband is a very mysterious character and I wanted to find out more about him, especially as things for Mina begin to escalate.

Clare Mackintosh is a writer who knows how to deliver on tension. The plan creates the perfect, locked room setting and it also gives the book a very claustrophobic feeling. I loved this book and I devoured it in just a couple of sittings. I thought the ending was done very well and it wrapped the book up in a very satisfactory way on a chilling final note. Psychological thriller fans, you have to read this book! I highly recommend it!

Publisher: Sphere

Publication date: 22nd June 2021

Print length: 400 pages

Hostage is available to buy:

Amazon UK Kobo Waterstones

@1stMondayCrime September Panel @claremackint0sh @VickyNewham @bethklewis @lucyatkins

First Monday Crime is back after a summer break and the next panel will be at the usual venue at City University, London on Monday 3rd September 2018. First Monday Crime really is the place to be if you’re a lover of crime fiction.

I think you will agree with me that there are some top authors attending next week’s panel and I can’t wait to hear them discuss their books and their writing. So let’s take a look at who will be appearing and I will have all the info about where you can reserve your free space at the end of this post.

Let Me Lie: The Number One Sunday Times Bestseller by [Mackintosh, Clare] Clare Mackintosh

Clare Mackintosh really doesn’t need any introduction in the thriller world. I still rave about her debut novel I Let You Go whenever I’m chatting to anyone about books. I don’t think a twist in a novel has shocked me as much since I read it back in 2015. How is that three years ago? Her latest novel is Let Me Lie you can read my full review by clicking HERE and here is a little bit about what you can expect from the book.

“In her latest novel, Let Me Lie, Clare weaves an intriguing tale centering on the suicide of a young woman’s parents and her quest to find out what really happened to them. She is determined to prove that there is more to her parent’s death than what meets the eye.”

Turn a Blind Eye: A gripping and tense crime thriller with a brand new detective for 2018 (DI Maya Rahman, Book 1) by [Newham, Vicky]  Vicky Newham

Vicky Newham’s first novel Turn A Blind Eye was released earlier this year and it is the start of what promises to be a thrilling new series. It follows DI Maya Rahman who is investigating the murder of a respected head teacher. The shocking murder has taken place at the school she attended when she was growing up in London’s East End. Cryptic clues left by the killer lead the police to believe that someone form the local Buddhist community is involved. To find out more about the book you can read my full review by clicking HERE and here is a little bit about what you can expect.

Turn A Blind Eye by Vicky Newham is an intelligent and confident debut and DI Maya Rahman is a character who will keep crime fans coming back for more. Vicky has created a complex case for her lead character to get to grips with in her first novel. This book is perfect for fans of Sarah Hilary’s Marnie Rome series.”

Bitter Sun by [Lewis, Beth] Beth Lewis

Next up we have Beth Lewis. Beth Lewis’s second novel, Bitter Sun was released earlier in the year and it’s one I haven’t got round to reading yet but I am really excited about it. Isn’t the cover stunning? Every time I look at it it keeps taking me back to the recent heat wave.

The Night Visitor: The gripping psychological suspense of the Summer by [Atkins, Lucy] Lucy Atkins

And finally we have Lucy Atkins whose latest novel is The Night Visitor. This is another novel which has been on my TBR pile for far too long and I can’t wait to get round to finally reading it, it’s one that I have heard so many good things about.

The panel is being moderated by Rod Reynolds author of, The Dark Inside, Black Night Falling and Cold Desert Sky.

As I mentioned earlier, the event takes place at City University, London and it starts at 6.30 p.m. After the panel we’ll all be heading across the road to The Blacksmith and Toffeemaker for a drink. The nearest tube station is Angel and all you do is turn left out of the station and walk straight down St. John’s Street. You can reserve your free space by clicking the link below.

RESERVE YOUR SPACE