Die For Me by Jesper Stein #bookreview blog tour @jesper_stein @TheMirrorBooks

I’m delighted to be sharing my thoughts on Die For Me by Jesper Stein as part of the blog tour. With thanks to Melaine Sambles at Mirror books for inviting me to take part.

BLURB

A brutal stalker is preying on women in Copenhagen.

DI Axel Steen begins an obsessive manhunt that sends him spiralling out of control.

The investigation is fraught with heart-stopping near-misses, dark mysteries,  and a final revelation with devastating consequences.

A raw psychological thriller from a master of crime storytelling.

MY THOUGHTS

Detective Inspector Axel Steen has never been able to forgive himself for failing to solve the murder of a young woman ten years earlier. When a woman is attacked in Copenhagen, Denmark, by a serial rapist in the present day, Axel believes he may, at last, have another shot at solving the murder. The case has haunted him for years, and this time he is determined to make sure that the culprit is put behind bars. And it is clear that Axel will go to any lengths possible to achieve his goal. He is a cop who will stop at nothing to get what he wants.

Die For Me is a very dark novel, and certainly not for the faint-hearted. Jesper Stein has created a terrifying and disturbing criminal in his latest book, and it is a read that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

DI Axel Steen, for me, is who makes the series stand out. He is a cop who doesn’t always follow the rules, and he has a very tumultuous personal life. Some of the things he gets up to made me wonder how on earth he gets away with it. But he gives this series its own unique flare and, surprisingly, I really like him. Having read the first two books in this series now, I think I’ll definitely be reading more as he is fast becoming one of my favourite characters in crime fiction.

In this book, we get to see a lot more emotion in Axel than perhaps in the first. You can see that he is utterly determined to catch the person responsible for the crimes, and you can see how much the unsolved murder has affected him. He knows he can’t move on until he knows the truth. This was another part about him that I liked. He seems to be the only person in the police force who genuinely cares about the victims, and he is the only one who seems to want to see justice be properly served.

The crimes which take place in this book are very disturbing, and Jesper Stein paints a very vivid portrayal of what happened through the eyes of the victims. He is not over gratuitous, though. Although I found parts of what I read a bit unnerving, the witness accounts are essential to the plot.

The case quickly becomes complicated for Axel, and it is clear that it isn’t going to be easily solved. But Jesper Stein keeps the tension mounting as the police race closer and closer to the truth. I really engaged in the investigation, and I desperately wanted the police to catch the individual responsible. As I was reading, I got the feeling that this criminal wasn’t going to be someone who would simply go away quietly and that unless they were caught, they were going to continue their attacks.

If you enjoy crime novels with a fascinating and engaging protagonist, then I would definitely recommend Jesper Stein’s books. Die For Me is riveting from the first page to the last.

Publisher: Mirror Books

Publication date: 16th January 2020

Print length: 416 pages

If you would like to purchase Die For Me, you can do so by clicking on one of the following links below. 

Amazon UK   Waterstones

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR

Die for Me _ Blog tour Twitter Graphic

Previous Reviews

Unrest

Unrest by Jesper Stein blog tour @jesper_stein @TheMirrorBooks

UNREST_HIGH (1)

Source: Review Copy

BLURB

When the bound, hooded corpse of an unidentified man is found propped up against a gravestone in the central cemetery, Axel Steen is assigned the case.

Rogue camera footage soon suggests police involvement and links to the demolition of the nearby Youth House, teeming with militant far-left radicals. But Axel soon discovers that many people, both inside and out of the force, have an unusual interest in the case and in preventing its resolution.

With a rapidly worsening heart condition, an estranged ex-wife and beloved five-year-old daughter to contend with, Axel will not stop until the killer is caught, whatever the consequences. But the consequences turn out to be greater than expected – especially for Axel himself.

Assured, innovative storytelling for fans of Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Lee Child.

MY THOUGHTS

Jesper Stein emerges as an exciting new voice in Nordic Noir. When the novel opens, the city of Copenhagen in Denmark is on lockdown as riots break out. For me, it did bring back memories of the London riots, which took place in 2011, and I thought the scenes were very well written and very vivid. Detective Superintendent Axel Steen enters the picture, and as the situation comes under control, a body is discovered in a nearby cemetery. And what’s more, a young man who was involved in the riots has disappeared with vital CCTV footage that could be pivotal to the investigation as it could show the face of the killer(s).

What immediately intrigued me was how the body had been left in the cemetery. It was clear that the victim had suffered horrific abuse before being killed and I wanted to know who he was and what he had done to deserve the fate inflicted upon him, or if indeed there was any reason at all. We immediately get a sense that the police face huge levels of mistrust in the city, and you can see how it is going to be difficult for Axel to understand what has happened. Journalists are also keen to paint the police in a bad light after their response to the riots, which doesn’t make things easy for them.

Axel is an intriguing character. The opening scene allows you a glimpse into the workings of his mind, and it does make you think about what has gone wrong in his life. I was interested to see how his character would develop further as the novel progressed, particularly his relationship with his ex-wife. He still has strong feelings for her, and at times I couldn’t help but feel sorry for him as it seems he is struggling to move on from their split. He certainly isn’t a character who always plays by the rules, and this is what made him exciting to follow, even though some of the decisions he makes don’t make him particularly likeable.

Jesper Stein is a writer who I will be keeping an eye out for. Unrest is an exciting debut novel, and I would definitely recommend it for Nordic Noir fans.

Thank you to Melaine Sambells at Mirror Books for inviting me to take part in the tour and for providing me with a copy of the book to review.

Publisher: Mirror Books

Publication date: 19th July 2018

Print length: 400 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR