The Dream Wife by Louisa de Lange blog tour @paperclipgirl @orion_crime

The Dream Wife: The gripping new psychological thriller with a twist you won't see coming in 2018 by [Lange, Louisa de]

Source: Netgalley

BLURB

Annie is the dream wife.

Supportive, respectful, mild-mannered – everything her husband wants her to be. But underneath, she is so much more.

Annie is a prisoner in her own life.

Her finances, her routine and her contact with the outside world are all controlled by him. Only her love for her little boy keeps her sane, and at night she escapes into a dreamworld where she is free.

But Annie is about to do a very bad thing.

And you won’t believe how she is going to do it . . .

Perfect for fans of BA Paris, Sarah Pinborough, JP Delaney and Alice Feeney.

MY THOUGHTS

Wow, did this book take an unexpected turn. I’ve read a few books recently where characters are quite similar to Annie and David, so I was intrigued to see how Louise De Lange would put a new twist on this idea in her debut The Dream Wife. I don’t think this will quite appeal to everyone, but if you enjoyed The Memory Chamber by Holly Cave and Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough, I think you will enjoy this book. What The Dream Wife really succeeds at, is that it takes an idea that is well known in psychological thrillers, but it gives it its own unique spin.

David was a really dislikeable character, in fact, I don’t think I have hated a character so much, and this includes his mother as well. I definitely sided with Annie on some of the decisions she made, and I was rooting for her. For the first half of the book, I spent most of my time shaking my head and willing her to do something about the situation she and her two-year-old son were in. It was definitely surprising the way how Louise took the story from here, and I couldn’t wait to see how Annie would take advantage of this new idea. And this is where the novel gets really interesting. These were the parts in the book that had me really sitting on the edge of my seat as I waited to see how everything was going to unfold. But I’m not going to say anything more about the plot here as I don’t want to spoil it.

The writing was so tense, particularly in some parts of the book when Annie and David were at home together, and some scenes made me so angry on Annie’s behalf. I couldn’t believe how she was being treated and I kept thinking that she deserved so much better. I could feel her despair as it began to grow, as the novel progressed. I could really feel that she was a prisoner within her own home and that it was going to be very difficult for her to get out. I did, however, find some of the flashback scenes that Annie experiences, confusing at times as I did have to read back over the last few lines to see where I was, but for the majority of the book the writing was excellent, and it pulled me into the story from the first page.

The unexpected direction that this novel took really got me thinking as I began to wonder how the rest of the book was going to play out. There is so much about this book that I want to talk about but I can’t without giving any of the plot away. The Dream Wife is an unusual thriller, which explores a very interesting idea. If you enjoy thrillers that blend genres and if you’re looking for a book which is a little different, I would definitely recommend it.

Thank you to Tracy Fenton at The Book Club for inviting me to join the blog tour and to the publisher for providing me with a copy of the book to read via Netgalley.

Publisher: Orion

Publication date: 31st August 2018

Print length: 368 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR

BLOG-TOUR-POSTER