The Stolen Sisters by Louise Jensen #bookreview @Fab_fiction @HQstories

I’m delighted to be sharing my thoughts on The Stolen Sisters by Louise Jensen on my blog today.

The Stolen Sisters: the most thrilling, terrifying and shocking psychological thriller of 2020, from the bestselling author of The Date and The Sister by [Louise Jensen]

BLURB

Sisterhood binds them. Trauma defines them. Will secrets tear them apart?

Leah’s perfect marriage isn’t what it seems but the biggest lie of all is that she’s learned to live with what happened all those years ago. Marie drinks a bit too much to help her forget. And Carly has never forgiven herself for not keeping them safe.
 
Twenty years ago The Sinclair Sisters were taken. But what came after their return was far worse. Can a family ever recover, especially when not everyone is telling the truth…?

MY THOUGHTS

The Stolen Sisters is the intense new thriller by Louise Jensen. I’m a huge fan of Louise Jensen’s work, and she never disappoints!

Twenty years ago, three sisters disappeared. Their story hits all the major newspapers, news outlets in the UK and abroad. What they went through was horrific, but they survived. In the twenty years that have followed, they have struggled to move on. It particularly affects the eldest sister, Carly. She is haunted by the fact that she failed to keep her younger sisters safe that day. Now, her sister, Leah also has her own child to worry about. With the person responsible for their kidnapping now set to be released, it adds new stress into her life. Leah is terrified he will come after them. When she begins to receive letters, counting down to the anniversary of their disappearance, she knows her fears are very real.

Louise Jensen keeps the tension turning up a notch with each new chapter. Leah’s fears come through very strongly in Louise’s writing; it’s not just her own safety she is worried about now; it is also her son’s. This causes extreme levels of anxiety for Leah, and we begin to see the relationship she has with her husband fracture. He simply doesn’t know what to do. I struggled to reason with him on this point. He knows his wife has gone through a terrible ordeal, yet he can’t seem to understand why it is affecting her still, all these years later.

Louise Jensen also takes us back in time to the moment when the girls were taken. Louise describes the horror of their ordeal, yet she still also keeps parts of it cloaked in mystery. As each new anniversary of their kidnapping arrives, they are faced with renewed interest from the press. A few years ago, they even released a book about the case. But now, on the twentieth anniversary, the press want a different angle. Leah is less keen to take part in a new round of interviews. She feels that she is being pressured to do so by her sisters. This did make me think about what new details the press hope to learn from the girls.

Louise does a good job of creating tension throughout the book, especially in the chapters when the girls are being held captive. We know they are somehow going to escape, but I wanted to know how they were going to make this happen. I found that I was holding my breath as I was reading some of these scenes. I had to know what was going to happen next.

It’s the twists which come later in the book that make it so dark and twisted. I couldn’t believe what I was reading, as Louise revealed her secrets.

If you’re a fan of Louise Jensen’s work, you’re in for a treat, and if you haven’t read any of her novels before, then you really need to. I thoroughly enjoyed The Stolen Sisters. I can’t wait to read what Louise Jensen writes next.

Publisher: HQ

Publication date: 1st October 2020

Print length: 400 pages

The Stolen Sisters is available to buy:

Amazon UK Kobo Waterstones

The Family by Louise Jensen #bookreview @Fab_fiction @HQstories

I’m delighted to be sharing my review of The Family by Louise Jensen on my blog today.

BLURB

ONCE YOU’RE IN, THEY’LL NEVER LET YOU LEAVE.

Laura is grieving after the sudden death of her husband. Struggling to cope emotionally and financially, Laura is grateful when a local community, Oak Leaf Organics, offer her and her 17-year-old daughter Tilly a home.

But as Laura and Tilly settle into life with their new ‘family’, sinister things begin to happen. When one of the community dies in suspicious circumstances Laura wants to leave but Tilly, enthralled by the charismatic leader, Alex, refuses to go.

Desperately searching for a way to save her daughter, Laura uncovers a horrifying secret but Alex and his family aren’t the only ones with something to hide. Just as Laura has been digging into their past, they’ve been digging into hers and she discovers the terrifying reason they invited her and Tilly in, and why they’ll never let them leave…

MY THOUGHTS

The Family is a very tense thriller from Louise Jensen. Louise’s writing made this book so utterly gripping. I was intrigued by the residents of Oak Leaf Farm, especially the dark and mysterious Alex, who is their leader and holds everything together.

The darkness creeps into the pages of Louise’s book. It kept me turning the pages as I wondered what was going to happen next.

Laura and her daughter, Tilly, have already suffered unimaginable trauma. Laura’s husband and Tilly’s father, Gavan, has fallen to his death after a visit to one of his construction sites. But in the wake of Gavan’s passing, disturbing details about his business come to light, and people begin to turn on Laura and Tilly, including their own family. Desperate for help, Laura seeks refuge at Oak Leaf Farm and very soon Tilly is pulled into Alex’s orbit. Infatuated by Alex, Tilly is desperate to stay, but Laura is starting to see what is going on here and wants to get out. But someone is very keen to make sure that they never leave.

I found Louise Jensen’s latest thriller to be completely unpredictable. As Laura and Tilly became a part of the community at Oak Leaf, I initially thought this would be a good thing for them. It soon starts to become clear, however, that Alex was keen for them to stay for an altogether different reason. I never felt though that the community was completely shut off from the wider world. Although they use all their own home grown produce and don’t use technology, I didn’t get the sense they were prisoners there. It felt like a very welcoming community, and this is what made the characters who were a part of it all the more fascinating. I wanted to know just why they wanted to be a part of it and what made them stay.

The tension soon begins to build as the story progresses, and I started to fear for both Laura and Tilly. I couldn’t work out what was going on behind the scenes. Tilly, I felt especially sorry for, particularly for what she was going through at school, reminding us that school can be an incredibly tough time for teenagers. I could see why she was desperate to feel accepted at Oak Leaf and why she wanted to form new friendships there. I could also see why she was so drawn to Alex.

I’ve read Louise Jensen’s previous work, and I have to say that I think The Family is my favourite. I thought that the darkness was done really well, and it kept me thinking about the characters and what was going to happen to them.

There is a very creepy vibe to the story as it develops. I’m sure that many readers will be pulled into Louise and Tilly’s new home. Dark, very addictive and with some very sinister revelations, I’m sure this book will be a big hit among readers.

Publisher: HQ

Publication date: 25th September 2019 (kindle) 3rd October 2019 (paperback)

Print length: 384 pages

If you would like to purchase The Family, you can do so by clicking on one of the following links below.

Amazon UK  Kobo  Waterstones

The Date by Louise Jenson cover reveal @bookouture @Fab_fiction

I’m really excited to be able to share the cover of Louise Jensen’s fourth psychological thriller The Date with you this evening. But before I reveal the cover, let’s take a look at what her latest thriller is about.

ABOUT LOUISE JENSEN

Louise Jensen author pic - no credit (1)

Louise is a USA Today Bestselling Author, and lives in Northamptonshire with her husband, children, madcap dog and a rather naughty cat.

Louise’s first two novels, The Sister and The Gift, were both International No.1 Bestsellers, and have been sold for translation to sixteen countries. The Sister was nominated for The Goodreads Awards Debut of 2016. Louise’s third psychological thriller, The Surrogate, is out now.

Louise loves to hear from readers and writers and can be found at www.louisejensen.co.uk, where she regularly blogs flash fiction.

BLURB 

Something bad has happened to Alison Taylor.

Her Saturday night started normally. Recently separated from her husband, Ali has been persuaded by her friends to go on a date with a new man. She is ready, she is nervous, she is excited. She is about to take a step into her new future.

By Sunday morning, Ali’s life is unrecognisable. She wakes, and she knows that something is wrong. She is home, she is alone, she is hurt and she has no memory of what happened to her.

Worse still, when she looks in the mirror, Ali doesn’t recognise the face staring back at her. She can’t recognise her friends and family. And she can’t recognise the person who is trying to destroy her…

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The SisterThe Gift and The SurrogateThe Date is a gripping page-turner that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Before I Go To Sleep.

And so without any further ado, here’s the cover for The Date. Can I have a drum roll please . . .

 

The-Date-Kindle

The Date is published by Bookouture on the 21st June 2018 but you can pre-order your copy now by clicking the link below.

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE