Dying Day by Stephen Edger Book Review @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Dying Day: Absolutely gripping serial killer fiction (Detective Kate Matthews Book 2) by [Edger, Stephen]

Source: Purchased Copy

BLURB

Some mistakes you live with. Others you die for…

When the body of a young woman is found in the boot of an abandoned car near the Southampton Docks, Detective Kate Matthews is ordered to stay well away from the scene.

Exactly a year ago, Amy, a junior detective on Kate’s team, was murdered when she was sent undercover to catch a serial killer targeting young girls. Kate never forgave herself for letting the killer slip through her fingers and her team are worried this coincidence might push her over the edge.

When another girl’s body is uncovered days later with similar bruising around the neck, Kate launches an investigation of her own, determined to connect new evidence to the old to catch this monster before more innocent lives are taken…

Mysterious sympathy cards left with the families of the victims finally lead Kate to the twisted individual from her past. But if she’s found the killer, why does the body count keep rising?

MY THOUGHTS

Dying Day is the second book in the Kate Matthews series by Stephen Edger. I really enjoyed the first book in the series, but this book takes it up another level. After I finished the first book, I really wanted to find out more about Kate’s past, and Stephen has certainly satisfied my curiosity in his latest novel. Kate really is pulled through the emotional ranks in this book and we can see again her determination to see a case through, even if it means risking her own life and career. She is a fantastic character and an exciting new addition to the crime fiction world.

At the beginning of Dying Day, Kate is ordered to stay away from a murder investigation that is being conducted by Southampton Police force, after the body of a young woman is found. But Kate can’t help herself, and as she looks into the case she notices similarities to the murder of her colleague, Amy Spencer who was killed the previous year. Amy was working undercover in an attempt to lure a killer who was murdering young girl’s. Kate has never forgiven herself for putting Amy at risk and the fact that she never caught Amy’s killer has haunted her ever since. She has made it her mission to find them and bring them to justice. But as she tries again to hunt for her colleague’s killer, she may be putting her own life at risk.

It was fascinating to learn more about Kate’s recent history in Dying Day. We learn a lot more about her than we did in the previous book in the series. Although the book is told from her point of view, it is also told from Amy Spencer’s, her colleague who was murdered the previous year. The tension in the novel builds up, as you know, as the reader, that you are waiting for the moment when she comes across her killer. It makes for a really gripping read.

This was another exciting read from Stephen Edger, if you are looking for a new crime series, then the Kate Matthews books certainly come recommended from me. I can’t wait to see what Stephen will come up with next.

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication date: 17th November 2017

Print length: 316 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE

Dead To Me by Stephen Edger book review @StephenEdger @bookouture

Dead to Me: A serial killer thriller (Detective Kate Matthews Book 1) by [Edger, Stephen]

Source: Purchased copy

BLURB

How do you catch a killer who knows your every move?

The woman lay flat on the table, her face to one side, her wrists bound with thick tape. Deep scratches marked the wood beneath her fingers, now resting cold and still…

When a woman’s body is found in an abandoned bar near the Southampton docks, Detective Kate Matthews is called in to lead the investigation. She must solve this case to prove she is coping with the death of a close colleague.

Kate knows a pile of ripped up newspaper cuttings discovered at the victim’s house must be a piece of the puzzle, but her team keep hitting dead-ends… Until she finds a disturbing clue that convinces her of three things: The murder is linked to the body of a man found hanging in a warehouse, she is on the hunt for a calculated serial killer, and the killer is watching her every move.

Kate realises there will be another victim soon, and that her own life is in grave danger, but no one else believes her theory. Can she find and stop the most twisted killer of her career, before another life is lost?

An absolutely NAIL-BITING thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and MJ Arlidge.

MY THOUGHTS 

Wow, this was such a good read. I always look forward to a new crime series published by Bookouture as I have never been disappointed by their books, and the first book in the Detective Kate Matthews series is no exception. I’m a little bit late to the party with reading this one, I’ve had it sitting on my Kindle for a while now, but I know I’ll be reading the second book in the series, which is also out now, very soon.

Stephen Edger introduces us to DI Kate Matthews in this new series. Kate is an officer with everything to prove, and we realise from the opening chapters that she has to earn her boss’s trust and respect. Kate has recently transferred to Southampton from the metropolitan police under a cloud of suspicion. At the beginning of the book, she attends the scene of a horrific murder on the docks of Southampton. But she is soon called away from the investigation when the body of a barrister turns up, a barrister who is well known to the police, particularly for letting many suspects in cases walk free. As the race to find the killer heats up, tensions within the team begin to crack; can Kate catch a killer when her own team starts to fall apart? Who can she trust? And when her own family is threatened can she bring the culprit who she wants to catch to justice?

This book is a real page turner. When Stephen first introduces us to Kate, I knew that she was a character who I could root for. There is a mysterious element about her in the opening pages, which kept me hooked and kept me wanting to find out more about her and her previous experience as a police officer. I’m hoping that we’ll get to learn more about her past in future books. I was also intrigued to find out more about her family life. As the investigation heats up, Kate finds herself being charged with having to look after her six-year-old daughter, Chloe, who lives with her Dad and his new wife. Kate isn’t filled with confidence at the prospect of looking after her, even for just a few days. It was interesting to see how they would bond during the time they spent together. It was here that I found myself shaking my head at some of the decisions that Kate made.

Stephen does a great job of planting lots of red herrings. I was amazed at how he managed to pull the rug out from under my feet when he finally revealed the truth. But if you’re intrigued to find out who the real killer is, well, you’ll have to read the book to find out.

This is a fine start to a new police procedural series. I’ll be reading the second book, Dying Day, very soon.

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication date: 17th August 2017

Print length: 334 pages

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE