Out of the Ashes by Vicky Newham #bookreview blog tour @VickyNewham @HQstories

I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for Out of the Ashes by Vicky Newham today on my blog.

BLURB

A tragic accident – or a ruthless killer?

When a flash mob on Brick Lane is interrupted by a sudden explosion, DI Maya Rahman dashes to the scene. A fire is raging through one of the city’s most infamous streets, the site of Maya’s childhood home. And the discovery of two charred bodies in the burnt-out building transforms an arson attack into a murder case.

With witnesses too caught up in the crowd to have seen anything useful, Maya is facing a complex investigation without a single lead. And, when reports of a second, even more horrifying crime land on Maya’s desk, it’s obvious there’s more at stake than she could ever have imagined. She must find the answers – before all of East London goes up in flames.

MY THOUGHTS

I thoroughly enjoyed meeting DI Maya Rahman in her first outing in Turn a Blind Eye, so I was looking forward to reading Vicky Newham’s next book. Out of the Ashes is a superb follow-up. Maya is a character with a very intriguing past, which Vicky explores further here, and the ending has left me very eager to find out what happens next in Maya’s own personal story. This is what I find so captivating about her character.

The novel opens with Brick Lane on fire. On the same day when protesters take hold of the area, a devastating blaze sweeps through killing two people, a man and a woman, found in each other’s arms. Was it just a coincidence that a flash mob was taking place on the same day? It’s up to Maya, Dan Grant and the rest of their team to find out. As they unpeel the lives of the victims caught up in the blaze, they learn some sordid details about the man’s history, and it’s very clear to see that there are a lot of potential suspects who may have wanted him harmed.

This was a very clever book which I found very difficult to unravel as I was reading. One of the things that Vicky Newham does so well at is creating her setting. Brick Lane was brought to life, although I’ve only been once, I could picture the curry houses, the shops and the way of life that people have been living there for many years. And Vicky also captures the diversity of London so well. There is a ring of authenticity in her writing, and I was transported to London’s East End, which is changing so rapidly as well. Vicky touches on this in her book with the mention of luxury high rise apartment blocks being built in the area, which has angered many of the locals.

As I mentioned earlier, I was really intrigued to find out more about Maya and her family. You don’t have to read the first book as this is explained well here, but I think it is best to get more of understanding of her character. After I’ve finished, I’m now thinking of how she if she is going to pursue her quest further and how and if any more discoveries will change her. And yes, I’m not going to be uncovering any details about what she finds out in this book here.

This is a series I’m now sure I will keep returning to. Totally engaging from start to finish with a really clever storyline, Out of the Ashes is a novel I would highly recommend particularly if you’re looking for a book that will take you on a cultural journey as well.

Publisher: HQ

Publication date: 30th May 2019

Print length: 400 pages

If you would like to purchase Out of the Ashes, you can do so by clicking on one of the following links below.

Amazon UK  Kobo  Waterstones

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR

Out of the Ashes blog tour

@1stMondayCrime September Panel @claremackint0sh @VickyNewham @bethklewis @lucyatkins

First Monday Crime is back after a summer break and the next panel will be at the usual venue at City University, London on Monday 3rd September 2018. First Monday Crime really is the place to be if you’re a lover of crime fiction.

I think you will agree with me that there are some top authors attending next week’s panel and I can’t wait to hear them discuss their books and their writing. So let’s take a look at who will be appearing and I will have all the info about where you can reserve your free space at the end of this post.

Let Me Lie: The Number One Sunday Times Bestseller by [Mackintosh, Clare] Clare Mackintosh

Clare Mackintosh really doesn’t need any introduction in the thriller world. I still rave about her debut novel I Let You Go whenever I’m chatting to anyone about books. I don’t think a twist in a novel has shocked me as much since I read it back in 2015. How is that three years ago? Her latest novel is Let Me Lie you can read my full review by clicking HERE and here is a little bit about what you can expect from the book.

“In her latest novel, Let Me Lie, Clare weaves an intriguing tale centering on the suicide of a young woman’s parents and her quest to find out what really happened to them. She is determined to prove that there is more to her parent’s death than what meets the eye.”

Turn a Blind Eye: A gripping and tense crime thriller with a brand new detective for 2018 (DI Maya Rahman, Book 1) by [Newham, Vicky]  Vicky Newham

Vicky Newham’s first novel Turn A Blind Eye was released earlier this year and it is the start of what promises to be a thrilling new series. It follows DI Maya Rahman who is investigating the murder of a respected head teacher. The shocking murder has taken place at the school she attended when she was growing up in London’s East End. Cryptic clues left by the killer lead the police to believe that someone form the local Buddhist community is involved. To find out more about the book you can read my full review by clicking HERE and here is a little bit about what you can expect.

Turn A Blind Eye by Vicky Newham is an intelligent and confident debut and DI Maya Rahman is a character who will keep crime fans coming back for more. Vicky has created a complex case for her lead character to get to grips with in her first novel. This book is perfect for fans of Sarah Hilary’s Marnie Rome series.”

Bitter Sun by [Lewis, Beth] Beth Lewis

Next up we have Beth Lewis. Beth Lewis’s second novel, Bitter Sun was released earlier in the year and it’s one I haven’t got round to reading yet but I am really excited about it. Isn’t the cover stunning? Every time I look at it it keeps taking me back to the recent heat wave.

The Night Visitor: The gripping psychological suspense of the Summer by [Atkins, Lucy] Lucy Atkins

And finally we have Lucy Atkins whose latest novel is The Night Visitor. This is another novel which has been on my TBR pile for far too long and I can’t wait to get round to finally reading it, it’s one that I have heard so many good things about.

The panel is being moderated by Rod Reynolds author of, The Dark Inside, Black Night Falling and Cold Desert Sky.

As I mentioned earlier, the event takes place at City University, London and it starts at 6.30 p.m. After the panel we’ll all be heading across the road to The Blacksmith and Toffeemaker for a drink. The nearest tube station is Angel and all you do is turn left out of the station and walk straight down St. John’s Street. You can reserve your free space by clicking the link below.

RESERVE YOUR SPACE